A year-by-year look at The Associated Press Big 12 coach of the year honorees, as chosen by reporters who regularly cover the conference for newspapers in the Big 12 region. The player of the year and All-Big 12 teams will be announced on Wednesday:

Coach of the year

2012_Bill Snyder, Kansas State

2011_Bill Snyder Kansas State

2010_Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State

2009_Mack Brown, Texas

2008_Mike Leach, Texas Tech

2007_Mark Mangino, Kansas, and Gary Pinkel, Missouri

2006_Bob Stoops, Oklahoma

2005_Mack Brown, Texas

2004_Gary Barnett, Colorado

2003_Bob Stoops, Oklahoma

2002_Les Miles, Oklahoma State

2001_Gary Barnett, Colorado

2000_Bob Stoops, Oklahoma

1999_Frank Solich, Nebraska

1998_Bill Snyder, Kansas State

1997_Larry Smith, Missouri

1996_Tom Osborne, Nebraska