ATLANTA (AP) — After meeting in the Southeastern Conference championship game, Georgia and Auburn split the top awards on The Associated Press All-Southeastern Conference team released Monday.

Auburn running back Kerryon Johnson was picked as the offensive player of the year after leading the SEC with 1,320 yards rushing, while scoring 17 touchdowns.

Georgia linebacker Roquan Smith was selected as the top defensive player. He was MVP of the title game, coming up with two fumble recoveries in the Bulldogs' 28-7 victory .

Georgia's Kirby Smart got the nod as SEC coach of the year after leading his team to the College Football Playoff in just his second season between the hedges .

Auburn quarterback Jarrett Stidham, a transfer from Baylor, and Georgia freshman quarterback Jake Fromm shared the award for newcomer of the year.

Alabama, which also claimed a spot in the four-team national playoff despite failing to win the SEC West , led the way with eight players voted to the first team: receiver Calvin Ridley, offensive tackle Jonah Williams, tackle Ross Pierschbacher, center Bradley Bozeman, defensive tackle Da'Ron Payne, linebacker Rashaan Evans and safeties Minkah Fitzpatrick and Ronnie Harrison.

There were no unanimous selections to the team. Fitzpatrick and Auburn offensive guard Braden Smith came the closest to a sweep, each picked on all but one ballot.


The Associated Press All-Southeastern Conference football team, with position, name, school, height, weight and class:



WR — A.J. Brown, Ole Miss, 6-1, 225, So.

(AP Photo/Rogelio V. Solis)

WR — Calvin Ridley, Alabama, 6-1, 190. Jr.

(AP Photo/Rogelio V. Solis)

T — Jonah Williams, Alabama, 6-5, 301, So.

(AP Photo/David J. Phillip)

T — Isaiah Wynn, Georgia, 6-2, 302, Sr.

(John Roark/Athens Banner-Herald via AP)

G — Braden Smith, Auburn, 6-6, 303, Sr.

(AP Photo/Butch Dill)

G — Ross Pierschbacher, Alabama, 6-4, 303, Jr.

(Ric Tapia via AP)

C — Bradley Bozeman, Alabama, 6-5, 314, Sr.

(Aaron M. Sprecher via AP)

C — Will Clapp, LSU, 6-5, 309, Jr.

 (AP Photo/Rusty Costanza)

TE — Hayden Hurst, South Carolina, 6-5, 250, Jr.

(AP Photo/Sean Rayford)

QB — Drew Lock, Missouri, 6-4, 225, Jr.

(AP Photo/Mark Humphrey)

RB — Kerryon Johnson, Auburn, 6-0, 212, Jr.

(AP Photo/Brynn Anderson)

RB — Benny Snell Jr., Kentucky, 5-11, 223, So.

(AP Photo/David Stephenson)

PK — Daniel Carlson, Auburn, 6-4, 223, Sr.

(AP Photo/Michael Woods)

All-Purpose — Christian Kirk, Texas A&M, 5-11, 200, Jr.

(AP Photo/Tony Gutierrez)


DE — Jeff Holland, Auburn, 6-2, 249, Jr.

(AP Photo/Brynn Anderson)

DE — Montez Sweat, Mississippi State, 6-6, 241, Jr.

(AP Photo/Michael Woods)

DT — Da'Ron Payne, Alabama, 6-2, 308, Jr.

(AP Photo/David J. Phillip)

DT — Jeffery Simmons, Mississippi State, 6-4, 307, So.

(AP Photo/Butch Dill)

LB — Roquan Smith, Georgia, 6-1, 225, Jr.

(Joshua L. Jones/Athens Banner-Herald via AP)

LB — Devin White, LSU, 6-1, 255, So.

(C.B. Schmelter/Chattanooga Times Free Press via AP)

LB — Rashaan Evans, Alabama, 6-3, 234, Sr.

(AP Photo/David J. Phillip)

LB — Arden Key, LSU, 6-6, 255, Jr.

(AP Photo/Gerald Herbert)

CB — Andraez Williams, LSU, 6-2, 175, Fr.

(AP Photo/Gerald Herbert)

CB — Armani Watts, Texas A&M, 5-11, 200, Sr.

(AP Photo/Sam Craft)

S — Minkah Fitzpatrick, Alabama, 6-1, 202, Jr.
(AP Photo/Brynn Anderson)

S — Ronnie Harrison, Alabama, 6-3, 214, Jr.

(AP Photo/Mark Humphrey)

P — Johnny Townsend, Florida, 6-1, 211, Sr.

(AP Photo/John Raoux)




WR — J'Mon Moore, Missouri, 6-3, 205, Sr.

(AP Photo/Mark Humphrey)

WR — Christian Kirk, Texas A&M, 5-11, 200, Jr.

T — Martinas Rankin, Mississippi State, 6-5, 305, Sr.

(AP Photo/Michael Woods)

T — Martez Ivey, Florida, 6-5, 305, Jr.

G — Trey Smith, Tennessee, 6-6, 320, Fr.

(C.B. Schmelter/Chattanooga Times Free Press via AP)

G — Greg Little, Ole Miss, 6-6, 325, So.

C — Frank Ragnow, Arkansas, 6-5, 317, Sr.

(AP Photo/Michael Woods)

TE — Albert Okwuegbunam, Missouri, 6-5, 260, Fr.

QB — Jarrett Stidham, Auburn, 6-3, 214, So.

(C.B. Schmelter/Chattanooga Times Free Press via AP)

RB — Nick Chubb, Georgia, 5-10, 225, Sr.

RB — Derrius Guice, LSU, 5-11, 212, Jr.

PK — Eddy Pineiro, Florida, 6-0, 173, Jr.

All-Purpose — Mecole Hardman, Georgia, 5-11, 183, So.

(C.B. Schmelter/Chattanooga Times Free Press via AP)

All-Purpose — D.J. Chark, LSU, 6-3, 187, Sr.


DE — Marcell Frazier, Missouri, 6-5, 265, Sr.

DE — Marquis Haynes, Ole Miss, 6-3, 230, Sr.

(AP Photo/Rogelio V. Solis)

DE — Dante Sawyer, South Carolina, 6-3, 275, Sr.

DT — Taven Bryan, Florida,

DT — Raekwon Davis, Alabama, 6-7, 306, So.

(AP Photo/Brynn Anderson)

DT — Breeland Speaks, Ole Miss, 6-3, 285, Jr.

LB — Josh Allen, Kentucky, 6-5, 230, Jr.

LB — Lorenzo Carter, Georgia, 6-6, 243, Sr.

(AP Photo/John Bazemore)

LB — De'Jon Harris, Arkansas, 6-0, 242, So.
LB — Skai Moore, South Carolina, 6-2 218, Sr.

(AP Photo/John Bazemore)

LB — Charles Wright, Vanderbilt, 6-3, 240, Jr.

CB — Duke Dawson, Florida, 5-10, 208, Sr.

CB — Levi Wallace, Alabama, 6-0, 183, Sr.

(AP Photo/Brynn Anderson)

CB — Carlton Davis, Auburn, 6-1, 203, Jr.

CB — CJ Henderson, Florida, 6-1, 182, Fr.

(AP Photo/L.G. Patterson)

S — J.R. Reed, Georgia, 6-1, 194, So.

P — JK Scott, Alabama, 6-6, 204, Sr.

(AP Photo/Brynn Anderson)


Offensive Player of the Year — Kerryon Johnson, Auburn

Defensive Player of the Year — Roquan Smith, Georgia

Coach of the Year — Kirby Smart, Georgia

(AP Photo/John Bazemore)

Newcomers of the Year — Jake Fromm, Georgia, and Jarrett Stidham, Auburn

(C.B. Schmelter/Chattanooga Times Free Press via AP, File)


Voting Panel:

Robbie Andreu, The Gainesville (Fla.) Sun

Jason Butt, The Macon (Ga.) Telegraph

John Clay, Lexington (Ky.) Herald-Leader

Dave Foster, Fox 17-WZTV, Nashville, Tennessee

Garland Gillen, Fox 8-WVUE, New Orleans

Daniel Jones, Columbia (Mo.) Daily Tribune

Hugh Kellenberger, The (Jackson, Mississippi) Clarion-Ledger

Logan Lowery, Northeast Mississippi Daily Journal

Tom Murphy, Arkansas Democrat-Gazette

Lauren Shute, SEC Country

Aaron Suttles, The Tuscaloosa News

Blake Toppmeyer, Knoxville (Tenn.) News Sentinel

Brent Zwerneman, Houston Chronicle


For more AP college football coverage: and