Stanford place kicker Conrad Ukropina, right, kicks a field goal as safety Dallas Lloyd (29) during the second half of an NCAA college football game against Washington State, Saturday, Oct. 31, 2015, in Pullman, Wash. (AP Photo/Young Kwak)

Nothing says that college football is just around the corner quite like the annual trickle of preseason award watch list announcements.

These days, even holders are eligible for some hardware.

The Mortell Holder of the Year Award (yes, it's a real thing) released its list of 2017 candidates on Friday.

Criteria for the honor, now in its third season, includes fluidity of hands, position of laces and post-kick celebrations _ and successful fakes carry plenty of weight with the selection committee.

Last year's winner was Michigan's Garrett Moores, whose kickers went 82 for 82 _including 20 field goals _ on his holds. Moores also converted a two-point conversion with a run against Rutgers.

It's all for a good cause. The honor was created in 2015 by former Minnesota holder Peter Mortell, who used it to raise $30,000 for the university's Masonic Children's Hospital.

This year's winner will be able to use the HOTY Foundation to raise money for a charity of his choosing.