A year-by-year look at The Associated Press Big 12 individual honorees, as chosen by reporters who regularly cover the conference for newspapers in the Big 12 region:

Offensive player of the year:

2012_Collin Klein, Kansas State

2011_Robert Griffin III, Baylor

2010_Justin Blackmon, Oklahoma State

2009_Colt McCoy, Texas

2008_Colt McCoy, Texas

2007_Chase Daniel, Missouri

2006_Zac Taylor, Nebraska

2005_Vince Young, Texas

2004_Jason White, Oklahoma

2003_Jason White, Oklahoma

2002_Kliff Kingsbury, Texas Tech

2001_Eric Crouch, Nebraska

2000_Josh Heupel, Oklahoma

1999_Major Applewhite, Texas

1998_Ricky Williams, Texas

1997_Ricky Williams, Texas

1996_Troy Davis, Iowa State

Defensive player of the year

2012_Devonte Fields, TCU

2011_Frank Alexander, Oklahoma

2010_Jeremy Beal, Oklahoma

2009_Ndamukong Suh, Nebraska

2008_Brian Orakpo, Texas

2007_Curtis Lofton, Oklahoma

2006_Rufus Alexander, Oklahoma

2005_Dwayne Slay, Texas Tech

2004_Derrick Johnson, Texas

2003_Derrick Strait, Oklahoma

2002_Terence Newman, Kansas State

2001_Roy Williams, Oklahoma

2000_Rocky Calmus, Oklahoma

1999_Mark Simoneau, Kansas State

1998_Dat Nguyen, Texas A&M

1997_Grant Wistrom, Nebraska

1996_Grant Wistrom, Nebraska

Offensive newcomer of the year

2012_Lache Seastrunk, Baylor

2011_Malcolm Brown, Texas

2010_Taylor Martinez, Nebraska

2009_Daniel Thomas, Kansas State

2008_Robert Griffin III, Baylor

2007_Michael Crabtree, Texas Tech

2006_Colt McCoy, Texas

2005_Mike Hamilton, Oklahoma State

2004_Adrian Peterson, Oklahoma

2003_Vince Young, Texas

2002_Brad Smith, Missouri

2001_Cedric Benson, Texas

2000_Robert Ferguson, Texas A&M

1999_Josh Heupel, Oklahoma

1998_Major Applewhite, Texas

1997_Michael Bishop, Kansas State

1996_De'Mond Parker, Oklahoma

Defensive newcomer of the year

2012_Devonte Fields, TCU

2011_Arthur Brown, Kansas State

2010_Lavonte David, Nebraska

2009_Aldon Smith, Missouri

2008_Travis Lewis, Oklahoma

2007_Chris Harris, Kansas

2006_Joe Pawelek, Baylor

2005_C.J. Ah You, Oklahoma

2004_Jordon Dizon, Colorado

2003_Jason Berryman, Iowa State

2002_Lance Mitchell, Oklahoma

2001_Derrick Johnson, Texas

2000_Derrick Strait, Oklahoma

1999_Carl Nesmith, Kansas

1998_Justin Smith, Missouri

1997_(a combined "newcomer" award was given to offensive player)

1996_Ralph Brown, Nebraska

Coach of the year

2012_Bill Snyder, Kansas State

2011_Bill Snyder Kansas State

2010_Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State

2009_Mack Brown, Texas

2008_Mike Leach, Texas Tech

2007_Mark Mangino, Kansas, and Gary Pinkel, Missouri

2006_Bob Stoops, Oklahoma

2005_Mack Brown, Texas

2004_Gary Barnett, Colorado

2003_Bob Stoops, Oklahoma

2002_Les Miles, Oklahoma State

2001_Gary Barnett, Colorado

2000_Bob Stoops, Oklahoma

1999_Frank Solich, Nebraska

1998_Bill Snyder, Kansas State

1997_Larry Smith, Missouri

1996_Tom Osborne, Nebraska